Reflections from a Retreat in Bagdad, KY

Last weekend I went on a retreat with 10+ people to Bagdad, KY. Where is Bagdad, KY? I don’t know, but we past Frankfort. It was a part of the prayer event that was going on at church. The area was off in the country, and I couldn’t get a signal on my phone, so my message to my mother that I was there and safe until I was back around town. It was good to hear from the speakers, and it was challenging to do the team games that were planned, like going from point A to B with 3 boards, not jumping or falling into the “lava.” It was crazy, because I was the first to go up and start it, and I’m a hesitant person. I was trying to get it done, even if the team had to try again and again (we only officially tried once, and we were talking it through).

The biggest thing I got out of the retreat happened on Saturday after lunch. We were given some free time, and I wanted to find a place and chill, since I felt socially drained with the retreat. I was walking around, and I saw wooden lounge chairs, so I planted myself on one. As I was thinking, something came to my head, and it sounded like, “You are my son.” Okay, it was like The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air where Uncle Phil would tell Will that statement. Yet, I was imagining God saying that, somewhat with a James Earl Jones voice. It kept repeating in my head, “You are My son. If anyone has something to say, they will have to answer to me.” I imagined myself standing behind God, looking over His shoulder. I walked to the building we had our sessions in to cool down, and I have a little conversation with the first speaker. Then, the couple who came to pray for us came out, and the husband revealed a little about me, how I am in the shadows and that I need to step out of the shadows. The couple prayed for me, and he mentions the son part, and there was a little water works, a little. I thought about what he prayed about, and I would like to step out of the shadows, but I don’t know where. I need to ask the Lord specifically where I need to step out of the shadows, because there are different areas, and I may need to step out of all of the areas.

The next thing that stood out was how I perceive myself. This came about on Saturday evening. I was asked by a young couple to play basketball. I didn’t have on the proper attire among other things, so I prepared to go out and play. When I get to the court, there were people playing, and they included me on a team that made the match-up uneven. I get out there, I get the ball, and I immediately shoot a 3. That was the last 3-point shot I would make that evening. That game ended, a few people leave, and we go to another court to play on the goal that was lower, in hopes to dunk. Now, I feel worn out, but I do a few things, like block a shot. I was given compliments, but I was repelling them. The reason why is because I grew up where I felt I had to be as good as the people I’m around and not make mistakes. I would think I would get criticism for not “making the shot,” and there were peers that would do that occasionally, and I gave that kind of criticism to the people I was closest to. Noticing that want to be good encouraged me to turn from that kind of mindset. If I did my best, I did my best, and if they didn’t like it… they will have to answer my Father. I want a confidence that doesn’t seek the criticism and approval of others, but relies on the Father. I want to walk away from “making shots” without beating myself up for missing some. I want to be who I’m wired to be, walking as God’s son.

It will take a while to process the follow-up from the retreat, and I want to strongly follow-up so that I can grow better as a person. It is told that folks who go to retreats and conferences would get a fire inside of them, and when they return home that fire dies out. I would like to start off as smoke and allow the fire to grow, and if the retreat helped in the process, then I’m good.

And I’m just getting started.

BLM

Leave a Reply

