A Single Introverted Man’s Journey, 12/21/15.

A few months ago, a friend of mine tagged me in a picture on Facebook. My friend took pictures of a recent batizado, a big event in capoeira. I saw the pictures, and they were cool. The picture in particular was me and a young lady, nice picture. After the pictures were posted, there were several likes and comments, one saying that me and the young lady looked good together, based on the pose. This was cool and all, but there was one problem: it wasn’t me.

I wasn’t at the batizado (I was in Kentucky), I haven’t practiced capoeira in a while, I’m not a part of the grupo, and although the make had dreadlocks and glasses, it wasn’t me. I wanted to have fun with it, so I let it ride for a while. My friend later on said that Facebook automatically tagged the picture, which I found weird.

What I appreciated is the comments I received, although it was funny because of the situation. Folks were happy to see me in that position. I’m still single, though. I haven’t heard anything after that, either. Another weird thing is that the people who commented were relatives and college friends, not anyone current. What I like to take in is encouragement, whether single or taken. Real in-your-face advice with no hidden agendas.

That whole event put some life in me, and the lady in the picture even commented on the attention that was given. Also, the actual guy in the picture was properly tagged. Not all Black people look alike, planet Earth.

One thought on “A Single Introverted Man’s Journey, 12/21/15.

Leave a Reply

