Brandon’s Poetry/ Writing Corner, 6/6/16.

Disclaimer: posted on Facebook on 4/30/14.

 

Susan

I can’t believe Susan did what she did.

I’m struck with awe of the courage she hid.

As frail as Susan is, she has much might,

had me on the ground for a while tonight.

And I’m the one who ruled with an iron fist.

If I wanted something done, she got the gist.

I made sure I was the man of the house

From the bills to the behavior of my spouse.

I met Susan one night at a bar inebriating.

The friends she was with were intimidating.

I got her number and we dated for as few months.

We got hitched in the court shortly after that.

I was to work; she was to stay at home

And take care of matters before I hit the doormat.

When we went out, we were less in public’s view.

I was suspicious of who she was talking to.

I remember when I first struck Susan in the eye,

All because she was talking to another guy.

My reaction was something she didn’t expect

And all I wanted from her was respect.

I “apologized” after her wailing and cradling.

After that, the arguments encouraged the enabling.

I pulled back around the time she was with child,

But I still let her know not to go and run wild.

One night, I struck her. On the stairs she fell.

She went to work the next day bruised, but covered it well.

The shouting matches were in the living room, her choice.

My views came out strong when I raised my voice.

She made sure our son didn’t hear any noise

By putting him to bed early next to his stuffed toys.

And her family didn’t know what was going on.

When they called, I would tell them that she’s gone.

I also kept her away from her friends.

I made sure I was the only one she needed.

I worked hard on her frail personality

Whether I physically or verbally succeeded.

I came home late after being at the bar,

Mad at my boss and the ticket on my car.

Susan was waiting in the front when I walked in.

With a small voice, she asked me where I have been.

Her question raised my anger, and I struck her.

I was so mad, and someone had to suffer.

I continued to beat her in a relentless spat.

She said she had enough and went for a bat.

I can’t believe Susan did what she did.

I’m struck with awe of the courage she hid.

As frail as Susan is, she has much might,

had me on the ground for a while tonight.

Now, I’m in handcuffs, quiet as a mouse

Because she called 9-1-1 from a neighbor’s house.

She should be in the back of this police car instead

Because she’s the one who took a bat to my head.

Her father arrives, threatening me with a shotgun.

(The) Police apprehend him before any damage was done.

With everything that’s going on, I see my son…

… being held by his mother. His face is cradled into her bosom, and the back of his head faces me. I sit in the back of this car and realize I’m alone, and I won’t be hurting Susan or anyone else.

 

www.kdva.org

http://www.aardvarc.org/dv/states/kydv.shtml

http://chfs.ky.gov/dcbs/dpp/violenceprevention.htm

Image (270)Image (271)

 

Image (272)Image (273)

One thought on “Brandon’s Poetry/ Writing Corner, 6/6/16.

Leave a Reply

