Not Right Now.

My father wants to be a grandfather. He has mentioned it before, but it was seriously suggested last year. A few other relatives, including my mother, has mentioned it, but the suggestion died out. The relationship between my father and I is distant. We haven’t really kept in touch since the late 90s. He wants to be a grandfather because he’s getting old, in his mid 50s.

I haven’t strongly responded to his request because my response would be too sharp. I don’t want to be a father, not yet. I don’t have the finances, the maturity, or training, the patience, and the wife to be a father. Before becoming a father, I have to become a husband first, I think. I strongly believe it would be a mistake to father a child without being married, and I’m far from being in a relationship.

It would be crazy if I agreed with his request and fathered a child with someone I don’t care about. It is most likely there were folks who have done that. They just wanted to be a parent to a child for their own reason. On a court show, a young man testified that he wanted to father a child because he didn’t know how long he was going to be alive due to the situations he was in. What would I tell people? Saying, “I wanted to be a father because my father wanted a grandson/ granddaughter.” I don’t know. I would want to be a father because it would be decided between me and my wife, or that I wanted to have a family.

I’m not rushing anything. If I am to be a father, that’s for me and the Lord to talk about first. My father, and others, are going to have to wait a little longer for an answer. I’m glad I wasn’t going through life hormone first because I would have already had a child or more. I’m being cautious so that fatherhood isn’t started because of a mistake. I’m not getting any younger, but I need to develop more before taking that huge step.

 

And I’m just getting started.

BLM

NRTSU2

Leave a Reply

