Worth The Weight? Part 3

To see part 1, please go to https://bmcneal728.wordpress.com/2017/03/29/worth-the-weight-part-1/

To see part 2, please go to https://bmcneal728.wordpress.com/2017/03/31/worth-the-weight-part-2/

The first thing I noticed about my weight control was the fact that I have to take responsibility in what I eat. If I was working a physically demanding job, which I did, or doing physical activities that worked a sweat, I could get away with what I ate. Right now, I don’t have either, so I must fall back and pay attention. I can’t eat the mall food court everyday because I don’t have money like that, and not everything at the mall food court is good for me. My metabolism isn’t the same as it used to be. The same can be said with my body. So, I will have to work harder to lose what I can.

The second thing I noticed about my weight control was the fact that I have to be more physically active. I’m not as active as I used to be. I didn’t stay active after 2008, which was a mistake. What I want to do is take the weight I gained and convert it into muscle. It would be a miracle to lose the pounds without doing anything, but that’s not the way it goes. I must put in the work, and stay putting in the work. Just because I lose the weight doesn’t mean I stop exercising, and I think I would gain it back and more. I’m going to learn how to swim this year, and I may do free weights, two things I resisted in the past. I have a cousin who did a fitness competition, one friend lifting weights and did competition, and another lifting. I need in on it. I don’t just want to be healthy physically but also mentally and emotionally.

In 10 years, my body chemistry may change, and I don’t know what to expect. I’m getting physicals a few times a year since the country put an importance on health several years ago. At this point I’ll take advantage of the opportunities I have when it comes to health. Right now, at work I’m around food that doesn’t help folks with their health. It’s a challenge to lie off of it most of the week. It’s encouraging to find foods that promote health like tuna, bananas, and anything that doesn’t have aspartame. And it’s also encouraging to have exercises that are enjoyable and don’t get bored. I weigh what I weigh, I don’t like the look of it (on a 1-to-10 scale, a 6.5), I don’t like the limitations of it, and I’m changing it. It’s time to change.

 

And I’m just getting started.

BLM

NRTSU2

One thought on “Worth The Weight? Part 3

  1. Great posts about the weight issue. Thanks for sharing this important message. I hope you start to feel better. Health is definitely important. I wish I had taken better care of myself too. I’m working on it too…it’s a journey. Good luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

