Brandon’s Poetry/ Writing Corner, 6/30/17.

Originally posted on Facebook 2/25/14.

 

I Treat My God like A Genie

 

I treat my God like a genie.

A diamond-studded crucifix hangs from my neck when people see me.

I’m so comfortable. My house fits my needs.

My car is garaged away from birds and trees.

And I drive the hybrid to work, 401K secure.

My career to my drive home is insured.

The soccer moms around the neighborhood know me as the breadwinner.

I thank God for what I have in my prayer at dinner.

 

I treat my God like a genie.

A diamond-studded crucifix hangs from my neck when people see me.

 

I can take a pillow and sleep out on the lawn.

I can relate with my wife from dusk until dawn.

My children’s schooling guarantees a bright future.

My colleagues work better than an Apple computer.

When a problem arises, I call on God

so that my standings aren’t extremely flawed,

because I don’t want to live a life ingrained in hard,

like everyone else who wants my yard.

 

I treat my God like a genie.

A diamond-studded crucifix hangs from my neck when people see me.

 

I called on Him to have money, a career, and a wife.

I called on Him because I wanted a comfortable life.

I don’t want my world to have any trouble,

so I pray to remove any hint of struggle.

For happiness, I turn to God in every research

because I want to wear a smile before I reach the church.

I treat every prayer granted as a championship.

I want everything from God except a relationship.

 

I treat my God like a genie.

 

BLM

NRTSU2

Leave a Reply

